A Black Belt is a White Belt Who Never Quit!!

Learn self defence with martial arts instruction

Ninjutsu & self defence classes in Victoria and Western Australia.

Ninjutsu is a traditional style Japanese Martial Art consisting of unique modern day applications.

Kevin Hawthorne Ninja Schools offers Ninjutsu self defence and martial art classes throughout Victoria and Western Australia. We invite people of all ages, children and adults, to find their local club and learn Ninjutsu today. 

What you learn

When studying Ninjutsu you will learn many aspects of unarmed combat and self defense including:

  • Escapes
  • Anti Bullying Techniques
  • Home Invasion Survival Techniques
  • Throws & Takedowns
  • Sweeps
  • Break Falls
  • Counter to King-Hit Attack

  • Kicks
  • Punches
  • Strikes
  • Blocks
  • Locks
  • Holds
  • Chokes

As well as ground defense and grappling, students will also learn single and multiple person attacker sparring, with and without a weapon.



When studying Kyu Shin Ryu Ninjutsu, you will learn a wide range of Ninja weapons.
Traditional Ninja weapons students will learn are:

  • Sword (Bokken and Live Blade Ninjato)
  • Shuriken (Stars & Kunai)
  • Staff / Bo (6' & 3' staffs)
  • Manrikigusari
  • Kama & Kusari-Gama
  • Shogé
  • Kubotan
  • Blow Pipe & Darts
  • Kaginawa (Grapple Hook)

Non-Traditional weapons like the Nunchaku, Tonfa and Sai are also taught.
Students will also learn self defence against weapons such as knives, sticks and broken bottles.

As many traditional Ninja weapons are now illegal in some Australian States, we teach with foam, rubber or wooden replicas in those dojos.

Speak to your instructor at your local dojo who can inform you better on the local laws governing the use and safe transport of traditional Ninja weaponry in your state.  Your instructor can also show you the array of weapons purchasable through the School.

Stealth & Camouflage

When studying Ninjutsu, students will learn all aspects of bush survival. This includes camoflage, traps, silent and invisible movement, bushcraft and basic first aid. These things are covered on our training camps and outdoor gradings.


There are six coloured belts. White, Yellow, Purple, Green, Blue and Brown. Each belt has a stripe in between levels. Once you reach Brown Belt you are able to grade for your Black Belt.

There are 10 levels or Dans of Black belts.

Belts: White, Yellow, Purple, Green, Blue, Brown and Black.